Monday, 04 May 2009 13:58

World T20 squad announced

Written by Paul Bedford
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Cricket South Africa today announced the final 15-man squad of players who will represent South Africa at the ICC World T20 to be played in England next month. The squad, largely based on the players who won the two Pro 20 Internationals against Australia earlier this year, does not cantain any new caps.

Speaking st the announcement in Johannesburg today, chairman of selectors Mike Proctor said that, "Our cricket is entering an exciting period. We are top of the ODI rankings but have never won a major trophy and this presents the opportunity to do so."

Proctor went on to add, "Form in the Pro20 domestic competition was a key factor in our selection process and it was encouraging to note how high the standard of our domestic cricket is at the moment."

The squad wiill get together for a training camp at the end of this month.

Proteas Squad

Graeme Smith (captain), Johan Botha (vice-captain), Yusuf Abdulla, Mark Boucher, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Justin Ontong< Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Dale Steyn, Roelof van der Merwe

Paul Bedford

Paul Bedford

E-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
Login to post comments

Sports News

Home | RSS Feed | CSS | XHTML

Unless otherwise noted all content is © 2010 SA Directory